So close, yet so far…..

New Zealand was just about to win their first match in nearly 4 months but Yousaf Pathan spoiled the party and turned New Zealand’s victory into yet an other defeat.

TOSS: It all started when Gambhir won the toss and asked Vettori’s eleven to bat first.

Team Changes: Both teams made some changes. For India, Rohit Sharma, P Patel, S Tiwary and P Kumar made their way into playing eleven replacing M. Vijay, Saha, Jadeja and Munaf Patel.

New Zealand called Tim Southee and Jamie How in place of Hopkins and K Williamson.

New Zealand for the first time in the series looked positive, both their openers got off to a flying start. McCullum and Guptill put on 63 in 8.4 overs before Nehra struck removing Guptill for 30. Soon after Nehra and Ashwin removed How and McCullum respectively. New Zealand were once again in sort of bother at 91-3.

Two of the most experienced Kiwi batsmen, Styris and Taylor made sure that they once again don’t lose their way by sharing a partnership of 79 runs.

But again New Zealand lost some quick wickets were 7 for 251 in 45th over. James Franklin didn’t surrender and continued his battle against Indian attack, he was well supported by N McCullum.

After 50 overs Franklin was unbeaten on 98 from 68 deliveries scoring 21 of the last over of innings. He and McCullum shared 64 runs partnership and helped New Zealand posting a total of 317.

India opened with P Patel and Gambhir. Both started in typical Indian manner scoring 67 runs within 9th over before Gambhir was removed by McKay. Kohli’s stay was very short, McKay cleared him in same over leaving India on 67-2 in 10 overs.

New Zealand were well on course when India lost 4 wickets on 108 runs. Sharma and Pathan moved Indian innings ahead steadily. Sharma scored 44 before giving Southee his 1st wicket of the match at that time India was 188-5 in 34th over, needing 137 more runs from just 16 overs.

In 36th over it started raining at that time India was well behind the D/L target. Fortunately, rain didn’t last long and no overs were cut off.

After the resumption, Pathan shifted gears and started attacking Kiwi bowlers. He scored  7 sixes and 7 four to score unbeaten 123 from 96 balls, Tiwary who scored 39 of 38 finished things off with a six, taking India over the line before the last over.

Man Of The Day: Although, Franklin played superbly for his career best 98 but it was Yousaf Pathan who really reversed the game result and was richly awarded man of the match.

Flop Of The Match: Umpires really deserves this award for their pathetic umpiring. I must say I have not seen such a poor umpiring for a long time.

Moment Of The Day: In 18th over, when India was struggling at 104-3 Rohit edged Vettori’s arm ball to McCullum but umpire didn’t pick that up. One thing more, it was dead plumb if he had not nicked it but Umpire over ruled the Vettori’s appeal. If that had given out, outcome of the match might have been different.

Hence, India has taken a lead of 4-0 in the five match series. Last match will be played at Chennai on 10th, December.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: